Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen were named Womenswear Designer of the Year at the CFDA Awards on Monday, June 4. 
The celebrity designing duo, following 2011 winners Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, were recognized at the New York event by the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) for their work on their fashion line The Row at the annual awards ceremony. 
Johnny Depp was the recipient of the Fashion Icon award for his signature style of dressing which fashion designer Diane Von Fürstenberg simply described as "Hot", though the 48-year-old actor was not there to claim his prize in person.  
Philip Lim took the Swarovksi Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear, while the prize for Menswear Designer of the Year went to Billy Reid. US-based French designer took the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Womenswear after missing out on the award two years in a row. Altuzarra was also the beneficiary of the $300,000 CFDA/Vogue Fashion handed out last November.
Other winners at the CFDA Awards were as follows:
Menswear Designer of the Year: Billy Reid
Accessories Designer of the Year: Reed Krakoff
Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in WomenswearJoseph Altuzarra
Swarovksi Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear: Phillip Lim
Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Accessories: Tabitha Simmons
Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Tommy Hilfiger
International Award: Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garçons
Founders Award, in honor of Eleanor Lambert: Andrew Rosen
Media Award, in honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Scott Schuman and Garance Doré
Fashion Icon Award: Johnny Depp